May 20th 2020


9 Dec
' Nominations Open '
6 Mar
' Nominations Close '
6 Apr
' Shortlist Announced '
20 May
' Awards Dinner & Ceremony '


Connect Awards FAQ's


Who is organising the Connect Awards?

Holyrood, in close collaboration with a number of stakeholders, has run the awards since their conception in 2013.

How do I enter?

It’s FREE to enter the Connect Awards, and anyone (project/team/partnership) working on public sector ICT can make a nomination. You can nominate yourself, your team or project, or someone you feel is outstanding in their field. Shortlisted nominations will receive two complimentary places to the presentation dinner. 

Projects should have been live within three years of making your submission, and the same entry may be submitted for more than one category. 

Nominations can be submitted electronically. Click here to be taken to the nomination form. 

You are more than welcome to enter more than one category and also submit the same entry into multiple categories. You can also save your entry and edit it at a later date. 

What should I contain in my entry?

Submitting an award is easy. All you need to include in your entry is:

  • Short executive summary (200 words)
  • An overview of how your nomination meets the award criteria (350 words)
  • The measurable benefits of the nomination (250 words)
  • A short testimonial from a colleague, service user or partner organisation (50 words)

Although not necessary, should you feel you need to submit supporting evidence you will have the option to upload a word document or pdf when completing your nomination. 

Please consider why your nomination should be considered for the award and concentrate on specific areas of delivery and projects with proven results. 

Who can enter the Connect Awards?

Any organisation or individual working in the Public and Third Sector can enter.

When will the shortlist be announced?

On the, or around, 6th April 2020

The shortlist will announced on this site and also on Twitter via the Holyrood Connect page.

What happens with my nomination?

Experts from within local and central Government will review all nominations and draw up a shortlist of three for each category.

Our panel of expert judges will review all nominations and draw up a shortlist of three for each category. The judging panel will then whittle the shortlist down to identify the winner of each category.

The winners will be announced at a prestigious reception on the 20th May 2020 to celebrate their achievements.

Do I have to tell the person I am nominating them?

We advise that you let anyone you are nominating know that you have done so at your own discretion. It is not compulsory to do so but it is usually best to inform them in advance so they are not caught off-guard if they are shortlisted. It’s also an opportunity to let them know what fantastic work they have done!

Why have some categories been changed and added?

The awards have been refreshed and modernised to reflect the priorities those working in ICT.

How many categories are there?

There are 11 categories in total this year (view here).

Who should I contact if I have any questions about the Awards process?

Should you need any further information please contact James Cameron at or 0131 285 1691.